What clinical experience should I get?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Cemetra

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was really wanting to become an EMT, but there’s no EMT volunteer opportunities near me. Seriously, none. I emailed every county within an hour from me and none take volunteers, which is highly surprising since I’m in a pretty rural location in south GA. I spoke with the Regional EMS Director who’s over all counties near me and was told this info and also that fire departments in our area don’t do anything medical, so I can’t volunteer there.

Should I just volunteer at a local hospice or get certified in something?

I’m planning on volunteering in something clinical and something non-clinical. For the non-clinical side, my girlfriend is big into helping our local animal shelter, so I’m stuck between that and Habitat for Humanity, since I have a lot of construction experience.

Regardless, I was going to spend ~ 15 hours per month volunteering. Half for clinical, half for non-clinical. Should I just volunteer at a local hospice? I’ve reached out via email to 3 with no response. I’ll look into more cities soon as well as calling.

Members don't see this ad.

Your clinical experience and volunteering can be two separate things, and you don't have to get certified in anything for them to be your experiences.

For non clinical volunteering, between the two options you mentioned above I would stick to Habitat for Humanity because the animal shelter may be more "prevet" especially if that is your only non clinical volunteering.

For clinical experience, volunteering at a hospice would be great but don't feel pressured to get a certification in that field or anything nor that that is your only choice. You can do things like shadowing, which is clinical but not volunteering.