Quantcast

What courses to take

Travel to Ghana on the Ultimate Med Immersion
This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PressPforPi

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated from a good state school in 2014 with a BS in Biology. Joined the military right afterwards. My grades weren't so hot when I finished school: 3.34 cGPA and 3.26 sGPA. I made C's in O-Chem 1 and 2, Evo Bio, and a C+ in Genetics. My AACOMAS cGPA is a 3.45 and my sGPA is still a 3.26. I've calculated that if I take 4 Post-Bac courses, 3 in the sciences, and make A's in them, I can raise my cGPA up to a 3.4 and my sGPA up to a 3.3. I know that's still on the low side, but I plan to apply broadly to both MD and DO. I'd prefer the DO school be more established, but we'll see what happens. My question is: should I retake the courses I made C's in? Or should I just find other classes to take? If so, what would I even take? I'm running out of sciences! Also, I wouldn't be able to take many of these courses at a time, maybe two per semester, and they'd be at the education office on base. They've partnered with a small school here, which actually offers a pretty decent variety of courses. How would Adcoms view the courses from a smaller school for a DIY Post-bac? TIA

DrMikeP

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Retake any F/D/C's in sciences and get your sgpa up. Take any missing std premed reqs and biochemistry. Smaller schools/DIY's are fine but if it's possible take courses at a 4yr college or uni. and make A's!!!

Do some reading in the AACOM MCIB (google it) and see what you need course wise and gpa/MCAT. You need to be seen as someone who went in the military and matured and now is ready for med school.

Then rock the MCAT and you'll be fine.

Best of Luck

PressPforPi

10+ Year Member
Reaction score