What DIY post-bacc courses to take and where?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

blvckbvnny

Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I am a SoCal resident who recently graduated from UC Irvine. I'm applying in June 2019, decided to take an extra gap year because I needed to strengthen myself as an applicant, and currently I am working on my DIY post-bacc plan (graduated with a ~mid 3.4 cGPA/sGPA). I have been looking at UCLA extension courses, here are some of the options I am considering. I'm looking to take around 8-12 units/2-3 courses this quarter to start off.

Introduction to Pathophysiology
Genetics
Atomic and Molecular Structure (equivalent to Gen Chem 1 course)
Thermodynamics, Kinetics, and Organic Chemistry (equivalent to Gen Chem 2 /Organic Chem 1 course)
Immunology
Developmental Biology

I've heard its good to look for courses that mimic a med school curriculum, so pathophysiology definitely seems to be right on point. Every other course offered is pre-reqs or upper division science courses I have already taken at UCI. Is it looked down upon if I take upper division courses such as Immunology and Developmental Biology as part of my DIY post-bacc, even if I already took them my 3rd and 4th years of undergrad and got A's? Or should I aim for pre-req courses that I did not do well in during freshman/sophomore years (got a C+ in genetics, B/B- 's in gen chem and organic chem)? Another option would be to simultaneously take other courses at a lower tier university such as Cal State Fullerton. Would taking UCLA courses vs. CSUF courses make a big difference? I was concerned about how taking CSUF science courses would look after graduating from UCI because I would guess that taking more rigorous courses at a prestigious university would carry more weight. Correct me if I am wrong. Any advice?