What do American residents/interns think about non-US IMGs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dasvira

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I am a 24 yo Brazilian physician graduated December 2018 on the University of Campinas (best medical school in Latin America in 2018 and top 3 since at least 10 years according to the New York Times).

After working one year as general physician in São Paulo (in Brazil when we graduate we may work as general physicians in family med and low complexity emergency medicine, in order to make money to survive 5 years of residency in Brazil, which are very badly paid because of a trust established by the government), I made my mind to leave Brazil because of its HUGE, corrupt and oppressive government and its society completely against liberal reforms. Seriously guys I'm paying over 60% percent of my income in taxes right now and I used basically nothing from the government (besides my entire medical graduation which was paid with tax money).

I Have always LOVED the USA and it's freedom ideals, so decided to take my shot to go and try to live the American dream! I want to be no burden to American society but to give it my honest hard work and toil, while being a member of a society I can proudly contribute to. I am already studying for step 1 and studying opportunities of observerships/ research programs using the money I saved this year.

I would like to ask American citizens about what they think about immigrants (specially Latin Americans) working as residents in the USA. Are they good doctors? Are they nice people to work with? Do you see them as "stealing" your jobs?
And to non-US IMG living in the USA how is your relationship with the US-citizens residents? Do they have any prejudice against you?

Thanks everyone for reading my post!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user