What does UOP look for in an applicant? Share stats?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

predentalqt

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm not done with my prereqs yet but I am wondering about rigor of coursework per semester and whether or not online classes are acceptable (not dental school related courses). My major is anthropology so all of the anthro related courses I was hoping to take online or in a hybrid format. That way I can take more classes per semester and spend my time on campus taking the science courses and their labs. I have physics 1&2 and orgo chem 1 &2 left. Also, do I need physics for UOP??
I also am looking for a predental volunteer program so with that and my courses, do you think they would feel like online courses at my four year university were not rigorous enough?

Members don't see this ad.

The people who were offered interviews early often had 23+ on their DAT. They value high DAT scores.

Check out their interview thread.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
From what I understand about UoP from the info sessions I have been to:

1. DAT scores, especially reading comprehension. Their course is condensed into three years, so RC is particularly important to them because it indicates that you can quickly digest information.
2. Volunteer work OUTSIDE of the dental field because any work in the dental field is beneficial to you. To them work outside of dentistry (like tutoring, volunteering in homeless shelters etc) is done because you actually care about giving back and not because you want to pad your resume.
3. Being really, really, ridiculously good looking (e.g. me)

Reactions: 3 users
From what I understand about UoP from the info sessions I have been to:

1. DAT scores, especially reading comprehension. Their course is condensed into three years, so RC is particularly important to them because it indicates that you can quickly digest information.