What else can I do

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futuredoctor1995

7+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I have 40 hours for an Internal medicine physician shadowing and I shadowed another 40 hours for an oncologist. Volunteering at our local hospital is very hard because they don't accept people unless you have connections. What can I do otherwise? I am also going to Peru for 14 days in the summer but I have no other clinical experience. Please help!
Do you have any local clinics or retirement homes?

I volunteered at a retirement/ nursing home but it was more about interacting with them and helping them in playing games and crafting. What would that count as?

Members don't see this ad :)
Patient contact experience! !

Look into clinics or hospice. Your mission trip won't count for anything, BTW. Go check out the trip to Haiti thread

I volunteered at a retirement/ nursing home but it was more about interacting with them and helping them in playing games and crafting. What would that count as?

Reactions: 1 users
I have 40 hours for an Internal medicine physician shadowing and I shadowed another 40 hours for an oncologist. Volunteering at our local hospital is very hard because they don't accept people unless you have connections. What can I do otherwise? I am also going to Peru for 14 days in the summer but I have no other clinical experience. Please help!

Try to find a hospice or long-term care facility where you can volunteer with patients. If you're dealing with patients directly, it's clinical experience.

Except the Peru thing, that won't count for much honestly.