What exactly do top medical schools look for?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

skylar27

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a community college student living in Florida and I plan to transfer to a university to finish up my bachelors and medical prerequisites. I have a 4.0 from starting over the summer and the fall semester but I haven't really taken any intense classes yet...and since I come from a low economic status and I was home schooled through high school, I'm taking remedial algebra classes until I can take College Algebra next fall and work up to Calculus. I am however taking Anatomy and Physiology this semester because I feel I should be taking more challenging classes to prove my self and it is the hardest course at the college from what I've heard.

I would really like to go to a top medical school...or at least have the chance to and I want to know exactly what it is the makes someone worthy of going to say Harvard or Michigan....

I already know that ANY medical school requires high GPA and MCAT...but what exactly sets you apart for the top schools?

At the moment I am aware that it might take me at least an extra year to complete all my pre-med and requirements for my bachelors degree and I worry that that would count against me in some way?

Members don't see this ad.

As far as your last question, I highly doubt that will hurt your application at all as long as you continue to do well.

As far as the rest of your questions, who really knows. Great experiences/activities, being an interesting person with a unique perspective on the world that is engaging, and being academically stout are good things to start with. But then again these schools get hordes of applicants like that each year and somehow cull the herd to a couple hundred that ultimately get accepted. Who knows how they do it.