What should I concentrate on next?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

idkjustchooseone

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
-

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
You are on the right track. I would also make efforts to network with students at the schools where you want to attend during the year before applying. Have your eyes opened about what really goes on in school.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Hello everyone!

I am just a little confused on what to do next to make my application better! I recently finished my sophomore year. I have been scribing since May 2021 and got around 750 hours. I quit that recently because I was getting sick of writing so many histories lol. I just got a volunteering position as a tutor for adult literacy in my community, as well as a research position in my university. I am shadowing a physician currently, and I also have about 1000 hours as a manufacturer in a factory. I just have a couple of questions regarding applying.

I want to try to get straight into medical school without a gap year, if these are my only experiences, would that be enough? If more is needed, what do you guys think I should work on? I am thinking I need more than 1 volunteering experience, but how many different experiences is needed? I am also curious about the need for clinical volunteering, I've seen many people say it's not needed if you have paid clinical hours, but what do you guys think?

THANKS!!!!
If you have worked in a clinical setting, you don't need clinical volunteer work.

I would not totally stop clinical work for any length of time because you will claim in your application that you love it and want to do it for the rest of your life. Taking a break is OK, but I wouldn't encourage you to say, "I've done scribing and X hours of shadowing. I can check the clinical box. I'm done until I get to med school."