What should I do for my gap year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Zbtb7

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm planning on taking a gap year after graduating from college to experience the real world and improve on my people/clinical skills. Could you please assess my choices?

I don't think that I need to take more classes or do a biomedical masters. I'm a biochemistry major with a 3.9+ cum+sci gpa and I've a 23AA on the DAT with no section below 21. However, I'm a commuter student and I haven't been too involved on campus beyond being an active member of a few clubs I'm interested in. I've 100+ hours of volunteering in a hospital and 100+ hours of shadowing two GPs and a periodontist. I believe weaknesses in my application are the following

-no volunteering in a free/low-income dental clinic (does hospital patient interaction count as clinical experience; is it an OK substitute?)
-no non-health related community service
-sparse leadership experience

I think a possible option for me is to get a science-related job (i.e. research tech or associate) and do volunteering and try to get leadership experience on the side. Another option I'm thinking about is doing a year-long volunteering stint like Americorps VISTA.

Money is not an issue for me and I would like to pursue the experience that would make me a better person (probably Americorps) and make me more competitive for dental school (don't know which). I already have a publication. Would dental schools prefer that I focus my gap year on research, a clinical-orientated job (would likely be more related to medicine though), or public service?

Thank you for your help.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
You will get in. 3.9+, 24+DAT is a shoe in for Dental School.