What should I do NOW?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futureMD4294

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I def def messed up big time.
Hi, I am a recent May graduate from UGA, I spent my last 2 months traveling and taking summer courses for PA school (I was pre-PA) and recently I have decided to go, PRE MED. I have landed an OR Assistant job that I will start working part time for on August 8th. My GPAs/EC are all descent; As far as MCAT, I've took one practice FL and received a 487 with NO studying on Kaplan. At this point I have a few options:

- Option 1: Take MCAT on September 10th (<6 weeks) GO ALL IN, apply this cycle to only DO schools because their cycle runs a lot later than MD. {If I score low on last 2 weeks, I will not take the exam}

- Option 2: Take MCAT later in the year, January and/or May, apply early to both MD and DO schools (2 GAP YEARS THO :/ might be discouraging, what would i even do?)

- Option 3: Apply to popular Caribbean schools such as ROSS, with my September MCAT and save 2 years!

mom recommends: September MCAT, and giving it a shot this cycle

Any other suggestions/potential options would be lifesaving.... Thanks in advance :)

Members don't see this ad.

What's wrong with taking 2 gap years?

Reactions: 1 users
Option 2. Give yourself the time to do your best and know that you are able to pursue all of your options. During that time, shadow, volunteer, and work. Get a good perspective of medicine and make your app strong!

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Definitely Option 2. Studying for the MCAT in less than six weeks is a recipe for disaster.

Reactions: 6 users