What should I expect from shadowing a physician?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Macromind101

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was accepted into an internship program that matches interns with physicians for shadowing. This is my first time shadowing a physician (lol I'm a first-year undergrad) so I was wondering what I should expect to do and what I should do to prepare for it.

I do expect (and hope for) a good experience that will teach me a lot about the clinical occupation. However, I'm pretty sure that whether or not I get a good experience is dependent upon how I approach the opportunity. So what should I do for preparation? I'm not sure if physicians expect shadowers to come with prior knowledge about their specialty. I have a broad knowledge of general biology at the best but that's pretty much it. Should I do some self-studying on the subject that the physician specializes in (so definitely anatomy & physiology and do some deeper studying on, say, the brain if the physician is a neurologist)? Or will the physician assume that I have no prior knowledge on subjects in medicine and thus teach me what I need to know? I just don't want to be bombarded with medical jargon on my first day and be completely lost (that will definitely not make a good first impression).