What to ask for in a nocturnist contract?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doctayj

Reaction score
I'm a relatively new residency grad (IM) and have been a full time nocturnist at a community hospital in a small city for the last year. I'm trying to make adjustments for my contract renewal but don't know many full-time nocturnists so am not sure what to ask for or if I am asking too much.

I'm typically doing 10+ admissions in my 12 hour shift (and have done up to 15). There's an open ICU so I intubate around 1-2x monthly. Cross cover census is 60s to 70s but in the winter up to 90s. I'm solo at night, no other physicians or NPs. I can call critical care in if I'm in a bind but they cover multiple hospitals in town so I try to avoid it.

I'm paid hourly at 175/hour with no RVU or quality incentives. The only other nocturnists are locum and are paid 200/hour. They have been working here for years because it is hard to hire full time nocturnists. I've asked for a pay increase to 200/hour to match what the locum physicians are getting or adding RVU incentives. None of the locum docs intubate and from what I gather from other staff I'm doing a much more thorough job. Initially admin said no to the pay increase but I've persisted in asking because I don't think it is unreasonable for the amount of work I'm doing.

Is 200/hour asking too much? What else should I ask for in the contract?

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

10+ admissions, cross covering 60-70 patients, AND intubating? How is this all even possible in a span of 12 hours… Something doesn’t add up. If you somehow are doing all of these things, you deserve way more than $175/hr

Reactions: 5 users
10+ admissions, ICU coverage, small town, community hospital.

My man you should be making $2500 a night minimum.

Put your notice and have them hire you as locum.