What to do when library is closed?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dreaming

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
During weekends the libraries close early, so where do you guys go to study when they close?

Members don't see this ad.

I hate the library. I can probably count the number of times I studied there during my four years of college on one hand, maaaaaybe two. Home is the best. If your school has study rooms, you could also try those.

Members don't see this ad :)
Or random unlocked classrooms... those are fun!

But don't you get distracted when you study at home?
how do you focus?

Dreaming said:
how do you focus?

I study majority of the time at home. I live by the adage "distraction enforces concentration" so, I have no problems. But seriously, I usually study in the wee hours of the morning when 'nary a creature is stirring so, there's no noise problem.

Dreaming said:
During weekends the libraries close early, so where do you guys go to study when they close?

My room or the lounge of the dorm if there's other people with me. I'd like to be able to use the study lounge at the end of my hall in the dorm, but it's freezing and studying there would be counterproductive.

I generally study at home....hardly ever at the library (too cold, and too many distractions---other people!) When I get together to study with other people (also rarely, since it takes longer) or when I was taking organic, I used unlocked classrooms. The good thing about classrooms is that the white board can come in useful when studying something that requires processes to be written out; also, classrooms never 'close'...I have been there until midnight and not been kicked out.

Barnes & Nobles or Borders - but they close at 10 PM, right? A good option if your campus is near one of these large bookstores.