what to do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anb111

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
so here's my deal: i'm a senior, have a 3.1 overall/2.9 science gpa (my major is biotechnology so some of the classes can be rough), haven't taken the mcat, and have two more semesters before graduation (that is, i'll graduate in dec '07). my ECs show that i am well-rounded. i have an emphasis on leadership attributes. as with many other students on this board, i share the coveted dream of becoming a DO.

my current plan is to prep this upcoming spring semester for the mcat and take it in july or august. i would like to still send in my primary apps in june. the general consensus seems to be to take the mcat months prior to applying. by taking the mcat after i apply, am i doing myself a disservice? with the stats i currently have, is applying even worth it? i've known i've wanted to become a doctor since i was 13 (i'm 21 now), and i really can't imagine myself having a career as anything but a doctor, so reconsidering my career options isn't going to happen. after graduation, i plan on working and/or taking more master's level courses, but other than that, i'm not sure what i'll do. i hope to get in for the fall '08 semester, but as time goes on, my hope to start med school by then seems to be quickly diminishing.

Members don't see this ad.

haha, thanks, but i'll pass :laugh: not quite what i was looking for, but i guess it definitely is an option. "best" is overdoing it.

Members don't see this ad :)
haha, thanks, but i'll pass :laugh: not quite what i was looking for, but i guess it definitely is an option. "best" is overdoing it.
At least it made you laugh, which is what I was going for......you sounded like you were having a rough time, so I figured, what the heck :laugh:

thanks, good times and jokes sure are welcome. :thumbup: sometimes this whole med school thing can be a little bit overwhelming.