What to look for in residencies?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

podsicle_stick

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a second year student and I want to get started on researching residency programs. Beyond cost of living and pay, what are some other factors that I should consider?
Would you recommend reaching out to programs that I'm interested in this early on or is that trying too hard? Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

I think it's a little too early to reach out to programs during the 2nd year. Your focus should be more on preparing and passing Part 1.
During your 3rd year, you should start looking over the list on CASPRWeb and possibly making a list of your future externship sites. If somehow you cannot get to extern at a location of your choice, then send them an email asking for a visit. It makes more sense to visit a program in your Junior/Senior year because you will know enough to answer a question (if pimped) and mature enough to know the ins/outs of that particular program.

Also, IMO, the resident salary shouldn't be a deciding factor; instead, the type and the number of cases the current residents are doing is far more vital. In addition to their academics, clinic work, research, etc., all factor into making a program worthwhile for an externship. Look over the program evaluations from your school and decide if program A is better/worst than program B.

That said, I would focus more on grades/part 1 prep during the 2nd year. You will have enough time to visit/extern from the 3rd year.

Reactions: 3 users