What would you do, DDS or.....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Med223

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here's the deal:

I posted some of this information yesterday in another thread, but you consider me a non-trad at 32, 2 children and a wife, and we live out in the country in West Texas. Its so cheap to live out here (drive through and you will understand why), so the house is paid for and land is like 400 bucks an acre (no, Im not kidding- like I said, drive through the area around Lubbock and you will understand). But we like the quiet and the friendly people, so we are happy.

In my 20's I was an elementary school teacher and also worked for the state health dept. Then our second child was born with pulmonary hypertension. That whole experience of almost losing him (multiple times) I guess propelled me into wanting to help children in a healthcare setting. Like I said before, I was a school teacher, so I haved geared my career towards children.

My dad, both his brothers, and I think 3 of his cousins are all docs in central TX, so I have been exposed a fair amount to medicene over about 20+ years. However, I have always considered med and dental to be very intertwined with each other, and I love to use my hands to fix things- to make something out of nothing, but I also love to investigate and hunt down specific problems to fix them.

I have done plenty of volunteering and mission work in both fields. So right now I'm just finishing up some prereqs and doing some research and grant work for the med school along with the state health dept.

One important note: I have noticed over the years and my dealings with both professions, that dentists tend to be more laid back than docs. Obviously, the level of seriousness would depend on the specialty you choose in either field, but I have always respected dental guys for their attention to detail. Thats what I like.