What would you like to see a pharmacist help with?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dred Pirate

Pharmacist
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So long story short.
I am a pharmacist who has been at my current hospital for 15+ years. I am moving from a primarily ED/ICU position (I know our hospitalist team very well from an admissions standpoint, and have great relationships with our existing team, so definitely will ask them) to a splitting my time between ED and IM. I will be precepting our IM pharmacy residents.

My question is - in what areas do you as a physician, see a pharmacist adding value to your care and helping in whatever random initiative that gets sent down from above?

1. Medication reconciliation? (my personal vendeta from working in the ED as I see a ridiculous number of errors in this area)
2. We do rounding with the team, so what things do you think are areas of focus? abx recommendations? something else?

Thanks

DP

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
ID fellow here. I was a med resident until recently.

1. Yes, med rec! I used to be flabbergasted to see non-medicine peeps (and even medicine PA/NPs) complete half-gluteus med rec and toss the patient to teams. Would not specifically mention examples, but I have seen very dangerous med recs, and at least one of these incidents the incorrect med rec carried through until the end of hospitalization.

2. Empiric antibiotic selection and dosing. Please help the world stop blindly dosing vancomycin and pip/taz - we see too many VREs and XDR GNR. What happens sometimes in this kind of scenario is that the team who receives the patient gets too scared to scale back antibiotic coverage (e.g. no culture positivity) and end up kidney damage, potentially prolonging hospitalization and outcome. Better not start this snowball roll to begin with.