What's so bad about a DO?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Doccubus

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm new to SDN and I want to ask this in the pre-MD forum. I just learned that MD schools take into account all grades even retakes but DO's do not, so I may be a DO candidate in the future. But I get the feeling that everyone wants to stay away from DO schools like it's the plague, why is this?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm new to SDN and I want to ask this in the pre-MD forum. I just learned that MD schools take into account all grades even retakes but DO's do not, so I may be a DO candidate in the future. But I get the feeling that everyone wants to stay away from DO schools like it's the plague, why is this?

If you do a search of the forum, you will see countless DO vs. MD threads.

But in sum, not EVERYONE wants to stay away from DO schools. There will always be those who look down upon the DO because to them, the MD is superior, blah blah. DO schools typically have lower matriculant stat averages and the schools are not as prestigious and well known as Harvard, Stanford, or UCSF. And there's the generalization that DOs typically have a harder time matching into competitive specialties and usually end up going into primary care. However, I've met great DO docs in all sorts of specialties who are happy as a clam doing what they do: PRACTICE MEDICINE, just like any MD. Perhaps there used to be a bigger gap between DOs and MDs, but not anymore.

Shadow a DO and see what you think.

If you do a search of the forum, you will see countless DO vs. MD threads.