Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr.Smile12

Admissions advisor
Staff member
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently an Australian high school student interested in eventually moving to the US to practice medicine (with no plans of coming back if I do). When would be the best time to do this? For undergrad, med school or residency?

I am interested in practicing medicine in the US because the residency training is quicker, and I'm attracted to the prestige of American institutes and residencies, and have aspirations of becoming an academic clinician-researcher. I have the impression that the United States has more opportunities for clinician-scientists and doctors looking for academic/research positions. I also want to immigrate to the US in general (bigger country, more people compared to Australia, I have a desire to "swim in a bigger pond" so to speak). I have no family there. Are these good enough reasons, or should I stay in Australia forever?

I am interested in doing an MD/PhD, and am also interested in surgical subspecialties. I am aware residencies, especially for surgical specialties, are very competitive for FMGs. However, I work incredibly hard and am extremely self-motivated and ambitious, and am more than willing to persevere for many many years to achieve my goals.