Which dental schools to apply to??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

omnomnom11

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

GPA: 3.61
science GPA: 3.58
DAT: AA-19, TS-18, PAT-24, RC-22
Done plenty of shadowing and worked as an assistant. Three research experiences. I'm an Illinois resident.

So far, I'm applying to:
-University of Illinois-Chicago
-Marquette
-UC-San Francisco
-University of the Pacific

I'm at a loss for where else to apply but really don't feel comfortable with the few I have right now. Any help would be really appreciated!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello!

Done plenty of shadowing and worked as an assistant. Three research experiences. I'm an Illinois resident.

So far, I'm applying to:
-Marquette
-UC-San Francisco

I'm at a loss for where else to apply but really don't feel comfortable with the few I have right now. Any help would be really appreciated!!

UCSF (i heard is very OOS unfriendly) same for UOP i guess?

I would apply to more private schools just to be safe.

Members don't see this ad :)
Just out of curiosity, why do you recommend more private schools?

Hello!

So far, I'm applying to:
-Marquette
-UC-San Francisco

You DAT score is too low for UoP, UCSF, and Marquette. I recommend retaking it. With your score, even with your good GPA, you options will be limited.

You DAT score is too low for UoP, UCSF, and Marquette. I recommend retaking it. With your score, even with your good GPA, you options will be limited.

Marquette's average AA was 19.8, with SCSF and UoP being 21. S/he is within range. No need to retake the DAT.

Marquette's average AA was 19.8, with SCSF and UoP being 21. S/he is within range. No need to retake the DAT.
3 points below the TS of UCSF and UoP though. Not sure how much those schools prioritize the DAT, but he/she will definitely be at a disadvantage in that area.