Which GPA is looked at more? OT admission

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Karina12

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
would any OT students say that their pre-req gpa was looked at more during the admission process than their over all. I am going back to school as a post bac in order to take my pre-reqs for OT and am wondering if admissions will look more at my post bac pre-req gpa or my graduating gpa? I am kinda worried :scared:

Members don't see this ad.

certainly your pre-req GPA is most important.

i'm a PT student, and i can only speak for my program, but overall GPA was only used as a cut-off point for applying.. it was the math/science GPA that was factored into the actual admissions process once your application was looked at.

The more threads I see with issues like this the more fortunate I feel to have been accepted to a freshman-entry (six-year) program (PT). While I still have to meet certain GPA requirements I don't have to pray a program will accept me on top of this. I suppose this isn't an option for you as you're applying post grad. Good luck!

Members don't see this ad :)
I agree with Bad0Fish0. Your pre-req GPA is what is most important and your undergraduate GPA is the cut-off point for applying. For most schools that I have looked into the cut-off GPA was at least a 3.0. However for some schools it can be a bit lower.

Thanks for the info joyus195 however that was an old thread that I started , I am starting Columbia's MS OT program in the fall :)

don't think too much about gpa. b/c your applications are weighed in different areas. here were my application stats...

overall 3.4
Ot pre reqs - 3.6
science - 3.5

gre- i'll say it's slightly below 1000 ( not great :/ )... writing 4.5
community service.... several years
leadership positions.... various, mainly president positions
ot experience/exposure/volunteering... ~100hrs