Which school is better for someone who wants to become a physician scientist?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SarahL

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everybody -- I thought the best people to ask this question would be you good researchers. I want to do basic or clinical research after getting an M.D. Since I'm an older applicant, I didn't want to apply for an MSTP slot (I've been working in clinical research for two years). Which school would be better for someone with my goals, UCSD or Pitt? Thanks for any advice you can provide!

Members don't see this ad.

Both schools are similar in prestige and both schools will probably afford you roughly equal research opportunities during medical school. I would go with whichever school that you feel most comfortable with. Just a word to the wise when it comes to comfort though, realize that academic physicians are paid substantially less then private practice physicians (one of the reasons that MSTP is a fully funded program with a stipend), so if academic medicine is your true goal, I would aim to minimize debt as much as possible. To give you an example of the difference in income, a University GI doc starts at ~80,000; whereas a private practice GI doc currently starts at ~350,000. 80,000 isn't poor, but it definitely helps if you don't have a massive chunk being taken out every month for debt and interest payments.

Both places are excellent in terms of their research. I am more familiar with UCSD, however, and so what I say may be a little biased. The research there is really world class. If it were my choice, I would pick UCSD simply because I know that it is an excellent research school and that there is a research emphasis in the medical school. In the end, however, I don't think you can go wrong.