Which school should I choose? UMN or UC anschutz

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

STRESSEDX2000

Reaction score
Hello
This is my first time here and please before everyone comes in and tries to "persuade" me away from pharmacy, I would just like some input between these two schools. I was accepted into 3 pharmacy courses in U of Minnesota twin cities, U of Colorado, and UIC. After much research, I realized that Chicago city really isn't for me because it can get a bit iffy at night and can be insanely expensive there. I am now left with UMN and UCanschutz

UMN: 3rd in Pharmacy on Usnews
Still waiting for scholarship roll out
Located in Minneapolis, a big city that potentially has more opportunity
Many places for internship and rotation sites
2019 Naplex pass rate ( couldn't find 2020): 92.94%

UCanschutz: 20th in Pharmacy on Usnews
Eligible for in-state tuition after 1 year
Good living condition and lower tax
Have good hospitals nearby and is steadily rising the rank in term of quality
2019 Naplex pass rate: 93.08%

Members don't see this ad.

Best option: Anything but pharmacy

2nd option: Whatever's cheapest. Calculate how long it will take you to pay off $100,000-250,000 in loans. Assume you'll make 70k per year if you're lucky, but more likely to be unemployed. Remember you only take home about 49k of that after taxes, 401k, insurance etc. Also take into account living expenses, food, car, utilities, etc.

Reactions: 4 users
You are going to consider changing your name to STRESSEDX3000 after you graduate. FYI, going to higher ranked pharmacy schools doesn't put you above other candidates if they already have job experience or have existing connections.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello