Why do I keep getting denied?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

acceptdPlz

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I'm looking for some advice. I applied to 25 schools (18 MD/PhD, 3 MD, 4 DO) in summer 2021 for fall 2022 matriculation. I have 3.91 overall GPA, graduated summa cum laude, and 514 MCAT. I was a physics major, published a first author paper in a physics journal, and started an astronomy club. I also have about 70 clinical volunteer hours (hospice volunteer and ER volunteer), and 100 nonclinical (non-profit data-entry volunteer and tutoring--both for low SES underserved communities). I currently work as a clinical research assistant and I'm working on a clinical first-author paper.....I have about 40 physician shadowing hours and will have 70 total... I have gotten denied from half of my schools so far. I knew my MCAT was low and that I am non-trad because of the heavy physics background but what else can I do to improve my chances? I have just started volunteering to earn more clinical volunteer hours... What else do schools want-- what more should I do?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Your MCAT isn't low. Your volunteer hours and clinical experience seem low. What schools did you apply to? Did you apply to your state schools? How are your LORs?

Reactions: 6 users