WHY? Why are you guys still training CRNA's?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

badasshairday

Vascular and Interventional Radiology
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just don't understand why. When I was a medical student I shyed away from anesthesia, which in part had to do with CRNAs. I was hoping you guys would have dealt with this issue by now, ie. Anesthesiology assistants. I don't understand why any MD would teach a CRNA despite all the bold claims they make. Let them train themselves since they say they can do it all solo.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 4 users
easy answer - it comes down to the money and cowardly administration

Members don't see this ad :)
"pcuser911MD - Anesthesiology 39 points 11 days ago

As a physician anesthesiologist with an NP for a wife I want to give my two cents worth. NPs have no business practicing without a collaborating physician. Period. She would agree and she has been doing it for almost 10 years. NP school is a joke, mostly online, very little foundational sciences, and the board exam is similar to the nclex that focuses on communication rather than diagnosis.