Worried

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AG2

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey:

I am currently a freshman and have received my Bio I grade, a C-!!!
I am very worried that I will not be able to attend a good Medical school how much does this C- effect my chances of getting into a good well recognized medical school, and what should I do to better my chances?

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think you should worry about one C- you got the first semester your freshman year! You have plenty of time to redeem yourself!

That being said, it will hurt your science GPA big time. You need to really pull it together and get some A's in subsequent science classes.

As someone who got a C in their first semester freshman year in General Chem I, I completely understand how you feel. I freaked out, I was really worried, but you know what? Now I'm a senior, I've bumped my BCPM GPA back up to a 3.2-3.3, and I highly doubt anyone's going to make a big fuss about some 100-level chemistry class I took my freshman year. I've taken orgo and biochem and shown that I can do it- I've proven myself. You can too.

You should take a hard look at what happened: where'd you go wrong? Use this as a learning experience to improve upon and don't make the same mistakes next semester. But seriously, you have a long way to go; don't give up easy, and don't worry about this one grade. How are your other science grades this semester?

I only took Bio I with lab this semester and I dont have my lab grade yet but I am sure it is def higher then a C-.
I appr ur reply I do need to start making some changes.
The thing is that I really had my heart set on Columbia( I know long way to go). Now i am really scared that I might not get a chance. But the c- is my lowest grade.

I just really upset

Members don't see this ad :)