Worth doing an away rotation for IM application?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Wisco99

Reaction score
Hi SDN. I have a unique situation that I was looking for some advice on. I am a student at a T10 USMD school applying to internal medicine. There is one program in particular that I want to match due to proximity to home (sick family), ranked somewhere in the 20s on Doximity. It is my strong desire to match there based on a combination of prestige, fellowship (hoping to match GI), culture, nearness to sick family, etc. There is only one other solid program in the state and it is pretty far. As such, I want to do everything I can to maximize my odds of matching there.

I think my app is decent for IM.
School: T10 USMD
Step 1: Pass
Step 2: Won't take til April but practice tests average around 260.
Class rank: I don't know if my school does this. Mine is probably fine, top half for sure.
AOA: no
Honors: Honored almost every clerkship (including IM) but my school's grades are quite inflated.
Research: 3-4 manuscripts (1 first author), 6 abstracts, 3 case reports, a few small-time presentations
LOR: still putting together. One of them will be extremely strong and well-written from an attending I worked with.
ECs: average. some free clinic, couple school clubs, nothing exceptional.

In terms of interview skills, I think I am pretty average. I got into 4/10 schools I interviewed at for med school.

In terms of how clinical performance, I think I would be decent at an away. I am pretty amicable and I will already have done SubI. Obviously adjusting to a new hospital/EMR puts a damper on some aspects of clinical performance but that's not unique to my situation.