Would you take the PCAT if you were me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rdanford21

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am new to this site and have a few concerns about the PCAT. I am currently a senior business student with a 3.5 GPA and plan on graduating in December 09.

I have decided to pursue pharmacy school, as I used to be a Biology major and I miss the sciences. I am scheduled to take Anatomy and Chemistry II this summer and Organic I, Bio I (grade replacement), and Physics I in the fall along with my final two business courses. My remaining prerequisites will be taken in the spring of 2010 (Organic II, Physics II, and Microbiology). After hours of reworking my courses, this is the best schedule I could come up with.

My concern is that I have not taken a biology or chemistry class in about 4 years and will have to take the PCAT this fall before I complete Organic I or Microbiology. I want to do my best and receive a high PCAT score, but waiting until January is not an option for the schools I plan to apply to. I am getting married this summer and really do not want to have to push back pharmacy school until 2011!

Any advice is appreciated

Members don't see this ad.

You don't really need micro but you will need organic. If you take in October, you will need to study ahead on your own. You could take it in October, apply to your schools and see what happens. If you don't get in that cycle, retake it in June if you aren't happy with your scores.

If I were to take the PCAT for the first time in October, would that be too late? I have been reading that PCAT scores take a month or two to receive. The schools I would like to apply to have a registration deadline of November 1.