Writing/Studying for MCAT for first time....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zzzopiclone9

Reaction score
Hey guys I'm a 29 year old pharmacist and I work full time. I was hoping to get some advice from you guys in terms of what is the best study material to use to study for this exam. I see some threads on how to study for the MCAT but it goes into using so many different types of resources. I see that kaplan has a set for like 160 dollars Canadian. Any advice from anyone in terms of the best resource to use and how realistic is it to study for this exam while working full time as a pharmacist. Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi there! I studied while a full-time student and it was doable. I started super early (~7 months before my test date) and studied for about an hour a day on weekdays, and 3-4 hours per day on weekends. You could adopt a similar strategy!

Hi there! I studied while a full-time student and it was doable. I started super early (~7 months before my test date) and studied for about an hour a day on weekdays, and 3-4 hours per day on weekends. You could adopt a similar strategy!

Really! What kind of resources are you using?

I used Princeton Review books for content review, and AAMC full length exams and section banks for practice questions.

Members don't see this ad :)
given that you are pharmacist, i assume all the content is familiar to you...

kaplan is comprehensive, EK is pretty concise and is pretty aggressive (and i think accurate) about telling you what you need to know... kaplan has weightings for each secton as to exam importance and i thoiught it was pretty accurate.

all knds of free summary info on the internet.

with your background, i would say just do questions on most of the content. flashcards for terms and p/s. khan academy videos to learn things a different way and take a break from intense reading (biology and biochem i think)