your secret recipe for - Retake

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jaiku

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I took the Sep 10th MCAT and scored a 7 in verbal. Which to be quite honest I was expecting becus I did not study much for it (Big mistake) . But what worries me is that I scored 9 in PS and 10 in BS. ....& that really puzzles me. Honestly I studied atleast 5 Months solid for MCAT (basically sciences)Did most of the TBR/TPR /Kaplan Practice/ passages(timed) / logging mistakes /post game analysis...and never scored higher than 11 in any of the 14 FL'S I took.... I was consistently 10/11 in sciences...almost 50 days prior to exam...but then It just stayed there!

Now If you are beginning to think I might be dumb/or just cram ...then I will only say that I have overall GPA 4 and I usually study conceptually. I really dont know what to do differently with sciences this time around :scared: ....Any insight will be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Oh gosh, the MCAT is such a beast of a test! I can sympathise with your situation, because I was in the same boat. My practice scores were good, my actual first score was bad :rolleyes:

For my second time around, I would do verbal practicing by reading everything I could get my hands on! No matter how boring. A word of caution though: this practice didn't reflect well on my VR practice scores the second time around. I was doing better VR wise on my first set of tests...odd! But, it did help me on the real deal. The VR passages are also insanely long these days, so make sure you read through everything once, and then never go back! On my test, I must've spent soo much time going back and forth on passage number 2 (def killer passage) that for all the other psgs, I couldn't afford to go back all that much.

VR though, is just an art. And you've got to hope for the best.