Convince me....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ZpackSux

Retired
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Why you want to be a busy retail pharmacist instead of a hospital pharmacist.

Members don't see this ad.

Why you want to be a busy retail pharmacist instead of a hospital pharmacist.

Exactly what I want to know from my pharmacists (I'm a retail slave intern)....

I like to bug her. and......She said you get to leave your work at work and that she did enough learning in school. (I guess implying that she does not want to do much continuing education) Watch out world. :eek:

Not that I'm a 2nd year, I've also started "quizzing" her. HAHAHA.

Convince me why you would want to work in a hospital. I wouldn't, hospital pharmacy sucks unless you work for the VA and are okay with making $30k less per year. Doing order entry in the dungeon basement is not my idea of fun. Also, have you ever noticed that the pharmacy in a hospital is always located in the basement next to the morgue? I am not sure what that says about the job or how highly you're thought of, anyway I digress. You have nurses bitching at you all the time because they don't have the med, can't find it or its wrong because the doctor changed it 5 minutes ago. Then there are the Doctors who look at Pharmacy as one step above being part of the janitorial staff. No thanks....

Retail pharmacy however, I am the king of the castle. There is no higher medical authority here. Patients come here to ask me questions and ask my opinion. I do have the occasional store manager to deal with but no bitchy nurses no egotistical Doctors. I actually quite like it. I am never board, never watching the clock.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)