1st Year and Drowning Already!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

monsterbrain

Drinking for sanity.
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is the first time I have looked at SDN in the last 7 weeks. Why, you ask? Because I am a 1st year pharmacy student and spend every free moment studying!! So this has been my schedule for the month of September:

Week #1 - 3 quizzes and 1 exam
Week #2 - 3 quizzes and 1 exam
Week #3 - 4 quizzes and 1 exam
Week #4 - 2 quizzes and 2 exams

And then to kick off the month of October:

Week #1 - 1 quiz and 3 exams

The above does not include 2 projects that are also due in early October.

Our professors have a bad habit of sending out emails with BIG assignments that we are to turn in the very next day. If we don't check our emails for one day, we are screwed.

I'm sure this isn't any different than what other pharmacy students are experiencing right now, but crap, how do you all endure this schedule for 3 years? I seriously study around the clock, including weekends and am still falling behind. When I ask the P2 and P3 students how they did it, they just laugh at me and say "enjoy this semester while you can." Does anyone have any positive advice to share?

Members don't see this ad.

Your brain will adapt. By the 3rd semester, you'll be doing twice as much work at a higher cognitive level and it will feel about the same. Don't worry too much about it. You'll be fine.

My suggestion is IV caffiene Q4-6h PRN.

Be thankful you have quizes, it's the best way to keep you up to date, they've stopped doing a lot of quizing here and we've lost people that can't fit all the material into their noggin before the test.

Members don't see this ad :)
Welcome to pharmacy school.