2 year pre-pharm vs 4 year b.s.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pharmwannebe2

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am going to be honest. Everyone who has graduated pharmacy school says most people that apply usually only do 2 years prepharm. However I am pretty sure more people get a b.s. degree before applying to pharm school

I wanted to see what everyone here has.

Members don't see this ad.

I think two years are sufficient enough time to complete the required courses for pharmacy school, but I agree the degree then pharmacy school route is becoming very popular since pharmacy school admission has became so competitive. I have a degree, but only because I didn't know what I wanted to be when I grew up :) When I decided to pursue pharmacy, I was already in a MS program at Nova, which I will complete in June! Yah :D

In a way I'm glad that I did stick around to get that degree because it will come in handy. I talked with the adcoms at the two schools that I was considering and they told me that a degree does boost your application some.

I am going to be honest. Everyone who has graduated pharmacy school says most people that apply usually only do 2 years prepharm. However I am pretty sure more people get a b.s. degree before applying to pharm school

I wanted to see what everyone here has.

if you want to get into pharmacy school with only 2 years prepharm then your PCAT have to be very high...90s maybe?

Members don't see this ad :)
I think that if you know coming out of high school you want to try and pursue pharmacy then you should take the prereqs in 2 years, do well in your classes, and plan to apply after two years. In the meantine, keep options open for a B.S. degree as a backup in case you have to apply 2 or more times.