23 mcat, high gpa, Chances and schools, Advice please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

phixius12345

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, so I really messed up with the MCAT. Took it once. MCAT was 23. 8/6/9 Both my science GPA is around a 3.65 and my overall is closer to a 3.8. I worked as an EMT in an ambulance for 2 years. Became a trained phlebotomist, then worked in a hospital's lab for a year. I've been doing research for about a year, but no publications. I am currently volunteering, and basically teaching classes for underserved high schools who cannot afford proper health education.
I plan to also shadow a DO this year before applying in June. Do you guys think there's any chance of me getting into a DO school this cycle? Should I even bother applying? And what schools would I have the best chance of getting into? Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey guys, so I really messed up with the MCAT. Took it once. MCAT was 23. 8/6/9 Both my science GPA is around a 3.65 and my overall is closer to a 3.8. I worked as an EMT in an ambulance for 2 years. Became a trained phlebotomist, then worked in a hospital's lab for a year. I've been doing research for about a year, but no publications. I am currently volunteering, and basically teaching classes for underserved high schools who cannot afford proper health education.
I plan to also shadow a DO this year before applying in June. Do you guys think there's any chance of me getting into a DO school this cycle? Should I even bother applying? And what schools would I have the best chance of getting into? Thanks so much!