3.97 gpa 37R

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sliceofbread136

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a biomedical engineer with the above numbers.
ECs:

• Research for 2 years with an undergraduate fellowship awarded
  • Volunteering at hospitol for a couple of years
  • 10 hours of shadowing at an ER
I pretty much have my heart set on Baylor medical school in Texas. I feel my ECs are really weak though. I'm gonna work on my ECs more next semester, but what would you guys say my chances are for now?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'm a biomedical engineer with the above numbers.
ECs:

• Research for 2 years with an undergraduate fellowship awarded
  • Volunteering at hospitol for a couple of years
  • 10 hours of shadowing at an ER
I pretty much have my heart set on Baylor medical school in Texas. I feel my ECs are really weak though. I'm gonna work on my ECs more next semester, but what would you guys say my chances are for now?
Have you read the selection factors for Baylor in the MSAR?

To extract a pertinent section: "Intellectual ability and academic achievement alone are not sufficient to support the development of the ideal physician. To work effectively in a profession dependent upon interpersonal relationships, physicians should possess traits of personality and character which permit them to communicate effectively with warmth and compassion."

So far you've demonstrated academic ability and scientific curiosity. You have familiarity with a medical environment and patient interaction, but minimal observation of a physician's role. What will you do to demonstrate compassion, teamwork, ability to communicate information to others and to maintain good interpersonal relationships, altruism, responsibility, leadership, and commitment? And do you have some leisuretime activities to help you manage the stressors that come with a career in medicine?