3 Semesters from completing my BSN but want to go to Med School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ky2i729

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I wanted to present my rather unusual situation here in hopes that someone may be able to offer me some advice. So, I am currently a 4th year BSN student with 3 semesters left to complete my degree (I transferred into the 4-year nursing program after doing 1 year as a general health sciences major because I was not initially accepted into the program). It wasnt until about 6 months ago that I began to decide that my passion was more for medicine than nursing. While I have really enjoyed the the information I have learned in nursing school, I was more interested in courses such as pathophysiology, pharmacology, and anatomy. As I began my clinical experiences, I have learned that I would enjoy the role of the physician more than that of the nurse.

SO, where am I now.... Well I have completed chemistry 1 and 2 "for life sciences" as well as anatomy & physiology also "for life sciences". Knowing that these were nursing specific courses, I compleated Bio 1 and 2 over the summer and am now planning on adding all of the Chem and Physics pre-requisites on top of my nursing schedule for the next 3 semesters. One of my major concerns here is that my current GPA is a 3.53.

Lastly, A little bit my non-academic life. I just obtained a volunteer position with a local hospital. I have been working as an Emergency Medical Technician for a 9-1-1 ambulance service for 4 years and have gotten a lot of clinical experience from there as well as from nursing school.

I have scheduled my MCAT for May of 2018, purchased the Kaplan review book and begun working through them. I suppose my question is, what is my next step? With my current situation, is my plan of attending medical school even feasible?