502 MCAT. Do I have any hope?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zaitoun

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello guys,

I'm a long time reader, first time poster. I received my MCAT score (2nd try) about a week ago and I've been feeling bummed ever since. Here are my stats:

-South Asian
-Texas resident
-Biology major with a minor in biochem and business administration
- 3.7 GPA at a community college; 3.9 GPA at a University
-502 MCAT (126/122/127/127). I scored a 495 on my first try; I am disappointed in my CARS score.
-30+ hrs in shadowing 3 physicians of different specialties and I plan on doing at least 20 more hrs with an internist before I submit my app.
-100+ hrs volunteering at a hospital. 200+ hrs at a free clinic. 30hrs at another free clinic.
-I've been working as a home health aide since 2016. I am employed to provide daily living assistance to a senior citizen.
-I spent 100 hrs in training as a CNA student at a long term care facility.
-5 hrs of non clinical volunteering at a school event
-1 year of research with a health psychologist. We studied the affects and relationships of social media use on physical and mental health.
-I was an undergraduate TA in microbiology for a semester
-I've been a medical scribe since February, 2018.

I need to get into medical school and I am determined to do it. Do you think I have a shot at a DO or even an MD school? If so, where do you suggest I apply? Also, I haven't done my research on them yet so I want to know what is your advice on caribbean medical schools?

Thanks a lot.

Members don't see this ad.

Retake the MCAT for Tx MD programs - otherwise you have a very low chance. Verbal is hard for most people. You will have to develop a technique to improve in the section.

As is:
Good chance at TCOM.
Great chance at the beach programs.

Reactions: 1 user