• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

• How To ACE Your Medical School Interview

In this webinar hosted by SDN with experts from BeMo Academic Consulting, you will learn a simple five-step process to help you translate your interview invitation into an acceptance.

MALA

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jan 12, 2004
Status (Visible)
sorry for the start of this silly thread, I've been stumped on this for some reason and I can't quite figure this out. (I'm a little new to science).
2-
Is O2- and O the same thing? Does it matter that the 2 is raised or is it done that way sometimes because like me, some professors can't type the 2 slightly above the line?

MALA

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jan 12, 2004
Status (Visible)
Wait, that didn't type out properly....it's
2-
O and O2-

MALA

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jan 12, 2004
Status (Visible)
Ok, maybe I'm answering my own question - I just can't get the "2-" to type slightly above the O on that line.

About the Ads

jdpharmd?

Turning lead into gold
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Mar 3, 2003
AND then...
Status (Visible)
I drew it and attached it to the post as a .jpg. O2- (superscript) is the oxygen anion (oxide), and O2 (normal) is oxygen gas (with no charge). Oxygen gas is two O atoms bonded together (double bond) and O2- is just one oxygen atom with a -2 charge. Ok, my attachment doesn't seem to work.. hmmm.

jemc2000

SDN Angel
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Dec 13, 2003
Lakeland, FL
Status (Visible)
If you mean O superscript 2- , that is when one oxygen atom has gained 2 extra electrons.

Whereas O subscript 2 is 2 oxygens bonded together.

MALA

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jan 12, 2004
Status (Visible)
Right, I understand O2, but is "O2-" emphasizing the negative sign the same as subscript 2-, anion? know what I mean? I'm trying to see if it's a trick question for this assignment. He said there would be.

jdpharmd?