Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

AA female. Any suggestions for schools?

Discussion in 'Underrepresented in Healthcare' started by TRussell74, Apr 15, 2018.

1. TRussell74

Pre-Medical
    1. Hello! I am really looking for some advice on my chances of getting in this cycle with my stats. I am an Ohio resident and an 22 year old African-American female. Traditionalapplicant with a gap year.
      GPA: cGPA= 3.51 sGPA= 3.13 with an upward trend. No Ds or Fs
      MCAT: first attempt: 499 (125-125-124-125) second attempt 503 (126-123-127-127)
      EC: Cello, choir, theatre, orchestra for 4 years
      Shadowing: 30 hours with mostly primary care physicians
      Volunteering: Clinical- ambassador at OSU East and University Hospitals volunteer
      Community: over 100 hours as a camp counselor for inner city youth, Habitat for humanity, served lunch for elderly, miscellaneous, cleaned up local park
      Research: none but worked as a lab helper for 10 months in a research lab.
      Work experience: 2 years retail in high school. I worked as lab helper, campus safety officer, early reading tutor, Physics TA, and tutor during undergrad often working two jobs at a time.

This is current list, please give any input:
      Case Western Reserve (I am legacy. Both parents graduated and father and aunt attended Case Medical)
      University of Toledo
      Ohio State Medical
      University of Cincinatti
      Wright State
      Wayne State
      Morehouse
      Meharrey
      University of Illinois
      Loyola
      Indiana University
      Central Michigan
      Michigan State University College of Human Medicine

DO: Ohio University

#56Today at 12:52 AM
      Last edited: Today at 1:00 AM
      + Quote Reply
    Previous Thread Next Thread
    < Prev1

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. siliso

Physician

Attending Physician