Advice for Graduating Residents

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MicroPod

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 3rd year resident starting my first attending job in late July. I feel pretty comfortable overall in clinic and decision making. I’m still feel nervous about operating by myself. I do alright in the OR but it’s always been with an attending present. Also I think it will take awhile to get cases so I am sure I’ll feel rusty by the time I start operating.

I guess I’m just hoping to get any good advice and/or encouragement for those of us graduating and starting to practice soon.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 3 users
You will do fine.
You are over-trained for the surgery part if you went to a half decent program.
If you are at a good program, you should have been operating essentially on your own for the whole third year - or longer (attending basically retracts for you, you teach juniors). Either way, you will do fine.

It SHOULD take awhile to get cases as an attending.
Do the amps or the fractures that come along on-call or ER f/u, but going slow in office is fine. It's smart.
Don't be those tools who are trying to talk every patient who smokes weed daily and lives alone in a 3rd story apartment into big elective recons.
I get those patients every week who some area DPM told needed XYZ big recon, and they clearly just want insoles/callus care or PT.
You will quickly learn that we have thousands of DPMs in our profession who undertrained and/or cut-happy. It's sad.
Doing too much surgery/procedures - esp in one session - just causes CRPS and bad problems - even if it's executed fair/good and it "heals."