This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

-N7-

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I've been lurking on this site for about 2-3 years now, and have always valued the interest members have in helping each other and in offering advice. As such, I finally summoned the courage to post my own case here in the hopes of getting some much-needed advice.

To make a long story short, university was a bit of a rough ride for me and included several regrettable decisions that now account for my sub-par stats. I graduated with a double-major in biology and psychology from a Canadian university, with an overall GPA of ~3.2 and an MCAT score of 507. This was not my 'best' effort, and I do truly believe I could have improved both stats. Unfortunately, due to personal circumstances, I cannot hold off for another year in order to boost my chances. It is now or never.

As such, I was wondering which medical schools in the US I should bother applying to (with understandably unfavorable odds). Here I should also mention that although I took physics in highschool and in preparation for the MCAT, I have not taken a formal physics course in university. I know this is a prerequisite in most American universities. So far, I have narrowed my (Canadian-friendly) US options down to CMU, Columbia (willing to complete 1 sem of physics by enrollment if accepted), GW, Keck, Stanford, Tulane and Virginia. Because some of these don't have specific GPA or MCAT cut-offs online, it is difficult to know whether they are realistic options for me or not (please forgive my ignorance).