This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mourikisn

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am currently a student at the University of Maryland. I transferred last fall (fall 2017), and am a third year undergrad. I was a comp sci major at my old institution, and I did enjoy my time in comp sci, but when I transferred I decided I wanted to be "pre-med" and spent my first two semesters completing biology requirements to become a bio major. I will inevitably be spending an extra year at the university (5 years undergrad), but only have a total of 2 years left.

After speaking with a relative who has recently graduated medical school and matched with a residency program, he told me about the certain things med schools look for in an applicant. One of the things he asked me, was why I chose biology and what about biology interests me. I honestly couldn't answer the question other than it had all the requirements for medical school. Now, I am interested in biology and find it fascinating how we are all interconnected, but I don't have a very intricate personal answer to the question. However, I have always loved computers and have been building them since I was a kid. I have taught myself to program two different programming languages (not too well though) and love technology in general. But, I don't see myself sitting behind a computer everyday for the rest of my life, and I didn't particularly enjoy the formal structure of learning to code in classrooms.

The overall question I have to answer is if I like a different major that I am more personally interested in pursuing, and would take the same amount of time to graduate, should I pick that major or stick with my current biology plan. Of course my end goal is to go into medicine, however I don't want to appear as a student who is simply taking biology to check the boxes for med school.