Alcohol and medical school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ioriscrub

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've seen a few threads about this topic but I think my context may be a little unique so I thought I would ask.

I am an undergraduate senior who has recently been accepted to medical school (Loyola) and, naturally, I'm excited. My question is basically this: How much do students drink in medical school and how accepting are they of non-drinkers?

Believe it or not, I have actually made it through undergrad without ever drinking alcohol. I avoided it mostly because my school has kind of a heavy drinking and partying scene and I didn't want to get pressured into something I'd regret, and also there is a history of alcoholism in my family so I'm somewhat paranoid. I don't really have a problem with people drinking, and I wouldn't mind just sitting at a bar with some friends and talking over some drinks without getting wasted. The problem is, I have some bad memories from my undergraduate experience and I'm a little wary going into medical school if it is going to be the same.

I realize I'm probably worrying about this more than I should, and I hope I don't come off as judgemental of people who do drink. I greatly appreciate honest input on this issue. Thank you, and have a good holiday.

Members don't see this ad.

People don't change just because they got into med school.

Last edited:
I've seen a few threads about this topic but I think my context may be a little unique so I thought I would ask.

I am an undergraduate senior who has recently been accepted to medical school (Loyola) and, naturally, I'm excited. My question is basically this: How much do students drink in medical school and how accepting are they of non-drinkers?