AMCAS Activities - To Include or Not Include?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jgc798

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am struggling with deciding to put piano instruction in my AMCAS section. I was taught for 12 years (from 2001 to 2013) and stopped official instruction literally two weeks before I started college. However, I have played the piano in my downtime many times since then. I actually wanted to put this as my most meaningful experience, as I initially hated it, but patient diligence and hard work forced me to appreciate it, and then I ended up loving it and was compelled to help younger students with the art. It was the first time that I was shown what it took to truly master something, and I can link this to medical school. I have played in many concerts and recitals, with my last one being in the summer after I graduated high school, but have not done anything official since. Will medical schools care that the bulk of my instruction came before college and that it's simply been a hobby since? Should I include it but not make it my most meaningful, or not include it at all?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I would say go for it.

My reasoning is the following:

1. It shows passion due to the time commitment

2. It shows an ability to teach others which is very positive for med schools.

3. You show personal growth by you becoming a person who can appreciate something even if initially you hated it.

4. Seems like you write a well thought out essay based on your experiences