American Medical Association PAC (AMPAC)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

phospho

Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just got in the mail a "2010 Membership Dues Statement" from the American Medical Association PAC (AMPAC). It seems like it's some political organization under the AMA. The annual fee for medical students is 20 bucks, which isn't too bad. But, honestly, I would rather spend the 20 bucks on beer.

If I'm a medical student, do I have to join them? I got one about 2 months ago and threw it away, but obviously they haven't gotten the hint. Has anyone joined this thing before, and/or given them money in the past? What do you get in return? Is it like joining that student AMA thing where you get a free netters? Or do you just get a thank you letter asking for more money?

thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
It is supposed to help elect leaders who will listen to physicians and help put them in influential positions to help shape healthcare policy....

Since although we are actually trained in medicine, the politicians have quite a bit of control.

Ideally, it would probably be best if all doctors joined these types of organizations, and helped make sure medicine goes in the right direction.

It is supposed to help elect leaders who will listen to physicians and help put them in influential positions to help shape healthcare policy....

Since although we are actually trained in medicine, the politicians have quite a bit of control.

Ideally, it would probably be best if all doctors joined these types of organizations, and helped make sure medicine goes in the right direction.

Unfortunately the AMA does not line up with the direction I want medicine to go in.

Unfortunately the AMA does not line up with the direction I want medicine to go in.

A lot of folks seem to think that.