Medical Apply this upcoming cycle or delay to next summer (2023 cycle)?

• Livestream AMA: Join SDN as we welcome Dr. John Ligon, a Pediatric Oncologist with the National Cancer Institute on May 11th at 8:00 PM Eastern. Register now!
Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBoneDoctah

Volunteer Staff
7+ Year Member
Mar 12, 2013
Status (Visible)
  1. Resident [Any Field]
Hello. I'm an undergrad graduating in May 2021. I was originally thinking of applying to medical schools this summer (2022 cycle) but unsure now because of gap in clinical experience since March 2020. Which I understand that many other applicants are also experiencing, but I wanted to get thoughts on my case?
i.e. Am I comfortable to apply this summer or should I take two gap years and apply next summer (2023 cycle)?

cGPA: 3.90, sGPA: 3.85, MCAT: 520
Clinical experiences:
- 90 hours shadowing several doctors
- 150 hours volunteer at children's hospital (over a bit >1 year, suspended in March 2020 b/c of the pandemic)
- 150 hours volunteer at a different hospital (one summer)
- Getting trained for hospice volunteering. The position is remote currently (ex: phone calling patients) but have plans to transition to in-person around April/May. Maybe <30 hours by this summer (including both remote and in-person). Would continue throughout gap year.

Then I have non-clinical volunteering, research, and other experiences. :)
It's also complicated because I've committed to a 1 year post-grad position at a research lab. If I take two gap years instead, might need to find a different job for the 2nd year.

Will be applying to a broad range of schools, but definitely applying to U of Rochester, Cornell, and Northwestern because of reasons lol

Thank you in advance!
How many hours do you have for non-clinical. Everything else looks fantastic and with a broad list of schools, should have zero issues getting interviews (unless you have red flags that we can't see with what you posted).

TheBoneDoctah