Are Residencies Worth The Investment?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rx_of_Music

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
After my first year of Pharmacy School I have heard a lot of talk from my classmates about plans to complete residencies after graduation. I have also seen the faculty push us toward residencies. I want to know what the major advantages to completing a residency are. I know it looks good on a CV and makes you more competitive, but with the shortage of pharmacists isn't this overkill? Also what are the advantages to pharmacy specialties? Do they have higher salaries without moving into management positions? Being an older student, I just want to make sure that doing a residency is worth the two more years of long hours at half the salary. Thanks again for your help.

Members don't see this ad.

It's pointless unless you want to be a clinical pharmacist, or possibly work in academia.

I'm currently looking into the possibility of residency as well. A few of my Kappa Psi brothers are going to be starting their residencies soon and I'm looking to them for advice on the topic. I've worked in hospital pharmacy for 6years now (started when I was 16) and as a result of what I have seen, I have sort of been soured on the idea. However, as the field of pharmacy becomes more competitive, having a residency will distinguish you from a fellow applicant. But, as time draws on, I'm more seriously considering complete one. As Dustbunny has said, and I'm sure you know, residencies are typically aimed at those who want to do clinical hospital work or those who want to teach. There are however, residencies aimed at community pharmacy (my hospital offered one) but I've never heard of anyone completing one. Let us know what you find out; best of luck!

Members don't see this ad :)