At a disadvantage if doing remote learning?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted1071450

This has just been something kind of floating in my mind recently, but this upcoming semester I will be doing remote learning. My college offers everyone to come back minus freshman (I'm a sophomore), but I have decided to stay home bc of current COVID-19 trends and the super restrictive/limited on-campus college experience (plus I can save about 10k, woo!).

This past semester was in person for 3 weeks and then everyone was sent home, so I took some important pre-reqs virtually. I took cell bio, bio stats, physics 1, and ochem 1. This semester I will be taking genetics, ochem 2, physics 2, and an African American lit class.

Will I be at a disadvantage when applying to med school in the future since I am taking almost all of my important pre-reqs virtually? I did really well luckily last sem, so I am sure I can do the same this sem, but I have been a bit curious about this and whether or not adcoms will look down on it since I technically had the chance to do be in person (albeit hybrid). I think I'm feeling a little lost because most people are returning, but with current trends I can maybe see another campus shutdown. The next time I'll actually be on campus would be spring 2022, since I'm studying abroad fall 2021.

Since I am at home, I am planning on scribing, which I otherwise wouldn't be able to do if I were on campus! I think that's a plus :D

Thanks guys :)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
Damn near every med school in the country is doing remote learning, so why should you be penalized? In the middle of a pandemic where states are literally running out of bed space in thier ICUs, it's rather stupid to go back on campus yet.

Reactions: 1 users