Attorney to Medical School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tiredlawyer

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi:

I am a 36 y/o attorney that is considering a career change. My student loan debt is around $160,000. I am thinking about medical school. This would involve a post-bac program as I have taken none of the science courses. So, this is the five year plan plus a residency. This really seems drastic considering my pre-existing student debt. However, this seems like the time for a change. Just wondering if anyone else is in this boat or any general input.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
There are definitely folks who have made the transition you are thinking about. Just do a search to see what they have said. However, I think with what you have posted so far many will wonder if you have the best motivations for going into medicine, and this really has nothing to do with being a lawyer. Medicine is hardly a great solution to feeling burned out and needing to deal with loan debt. It may in fact make these problems worse (it probably will). You already seem to be in agreement, realizing that going into medicine is drastic. It sounds to me that you may be thinking medicine because of the prestige trap, since you are already a lawyer. This is another dangerous road to head down and may leave you feeling equally unhappy at the end.