Biology Lab Credit

felixbyu

7+ Year Member
Nov 20, 2013
Kalamazoo, MI
  1. Medical Student
    Hi all,

I graduated last year without any general bio labs. However, I took an anatomy lab (1 credit) instead. Most schools require "8 credits of biology with lab", and I have the following credits. Would I be ok?

3 credits of General Biology
    2 credit of General PD Biology
    3 credits of Anatomy
    1 credit of Anatomy lab

zzxxzz

5+ Year Member
    Jan 13, 2012
      By "8 credits of biology with lab" they mean two 4-credit biology classes and two 1-credit biology labs. I think schools would say you have zero bio lab credits.

Also, what's PD biology? Did you take a full year of biology? (i.e. bio 101 and 102) Any upper-level biology?

About the Ads

felixbyu

7+ Year Member
      Nov 20, 2013
      Kalamazoo, MI
      1. Medical Student
        I attended two schools, and I'm not a life science major.. I didn't decide to study medicine until not long ago. I've submitted my application with U of Utah on my list because it doesn't require bio labs, and I'm in-state.

First school:
        General Biology - (3) Biol 1010
        Human Anatomy - (3) Biol 2320
        Human Anatomy lab - (1) Biol 2325

Second school:
        Physiology & Developmental Biology - (2) PD Biol 120 (Basically another general biology)

peudamour

"[I pledge] my life to the service of humanity"
        May 15, 2014
        Georgia
        1. Pre-Medical
          I attended two schools, and I'm not a life science major.. I didn't decide to study medicine until not long ago. I've submitted my application with U of Utah on my list because it doesn't require bio labs, and I'm in-state.

First school:
          General Biology - (3) Biol 1010
          Human Anatomy - (3) Biol 2320
          Human Anatomy lab - (1) Biol 2325

Second school:
          Physiology & Developmental Biology - (2) PD Biol 120 (Basically another general biology)